top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

MY STYLE

Chicago

Made

Me

Do

It

How many of those picture perfect “Must See” Chicago shots are sitting right now in your camera roll? I know I have hundreds of them. Right upon flying into our beautiful city you are instantaneously greeted with an Insta-Worthy photo of the beautiful lakefront and an architectural utopia. Can’t forget to get a snap of the iconic Navy Pier Ferris Wheel and the flashing marquee in front of the historic Chicago Theater, its all-very postcard worthy.

All these destinations make Chicago iconic and remarkable, they have also put Chicago on the map as a “Must See” place to visit, even if you have lived in Chicago all your life.

So, with that little spiel let me tell you about MY Chicago, it’s defined in two syllables, Pil-Sen! The place I called home for 25 years.

Right in the heart of Pilsen there’s a little brick red gable shaped house, with its signature candy cane colored striped awning, this house tells my story and it’s the neighborhood that holds my heart in its hands. For me this house represents Chicago, just as if I would be standing in front of that infamous silver Bean.

I am very proud to state that I came from Pilsen; it’s where my family planted roots in the 1950’s and they have continued to call it home ever since then. It might not be the most glamorous of places in the city, but it’s real and through its 2.80 sq. mi radius I have so many memories connected to it. Sadly, I no longer live here, you can take the girl out of Pilsen, but you can never take the Pilsen out of me.

Soooooo, I wish I could say I own this sweatshirt, because it’s super dope! But I don’t, it’s actually my cousin’s and I just had to ask him to borrow it. It’s by Daily Routine a Chicago born and raised street wear brand, a dope style, with a dope motto. “Looking good is a Daily Routine not a special occasion”. They have a fresh and unique style all of their own, I hope you can check them out. Shout out to my cousin for letting me borrow or maybe even keep this sweatshirt. Wink, wink...


So where do I wear this super dope sweatshirt to? Taking it to Pilsen. Under the Oakley street sign, that marks my roots.

To my special spot Harbee. One of the oldest bars in the city built in the 1870s. I think its pretty cool that I can have a beer at the same bar my grandfather use to frequent when he lived in the neighborhood, some 50 years ago. I think about, "am I sitting on the same barstool he once sat at"?

Lastly, there’s St. Procopius, this towering Catholic church stands right on the corner of 18th and Allport. It’s the church my parents got married at, where I was baptized and where I’ve sadly had to say goodbye to loved ones.

There’s something new and historic in Pilsen to discover. I can go on and on, especially because I didn’t even mention the amazing food. That’s a whole other blog post in itself!

This was just a little piece of my life I wanted to share with you. Not a lot of people understand why I love Pilsen so much, or see the beauty in it, and that’s ok it’s an unexplainable feeling.

I’ll let you make up your mind if you ever decide to check it out for yourself.

Like so many neighborhoods Pilsen is under gentrification. I don’t know what the future holds for it; but no matter what I will always be proud to say I’m a Pilsen Girl.

xoxo....

Photo Cred: Ivan Arellano

This blog post would have not been possible without your amazing talent & skills. Thankful and forever grateful.



bottom of page